Skip to content

Take Me Away

October 19, 2011

I think it was in the 70’s that Calgon came up with the slogan “Calgon, take me away.” For some reason I was thinking about this as I looked at some of my photos taken in August. We were in Elk , California. I like the color of the water in these. They have a calming effect on me. But the real truth is revealed by the photo below. I had, had about two cups of coffee and my bladder ready to bust when we came across this little beauty. Was I ever thankful!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2011 9:30 PM

    Roberta, these are incredible.. breathtaking. I well remember, Calgon’s ‘take me away.’ Good stuff. I have a lot of catching up to do on your beautiful blog..Your words and your pictures reflect your beauty.

    Like

  2. October 20, 2011 3:16 AM

    I can see the calming effect in your photos but I bet it was better in person.

    Like

  3. Ellen permalink
    October 20, 2011 7:27 AM

    That was definitely a stick with you ad campaign. I use that phrase a lot.
    Thank goodness for these little places along the way when we get far afield!!

    Like

  4. October 20, 2011 11:05 AM

    Beautiful scenery! I do love the water also. You take wonderful pictures….even of the little outhouse that was tucked away just for your use!!
    Here’s to your health!
    Brenda

    Like

  5. October 20, 2011 5:42 PM

    I had a chuckle when I saw your comment about the first photo and can sympathize with your plight!
    -Karen

    Like

    • October 20, 2011 6:45 PM

      Hi Karen, thank you for visiting and am happy to hear you able to chuckle. .. (:

      Like

  6. October 20, 2011 9:16 PM

    That’s some very pretty scenery! I do miss the ocean.

    Like

  7. October 22, 2011 7:40 PM

    Beautiful place… and that’s where I would like for Calgon to take me to. I remember those commercials. Those were the days when commercials were fun and memorable. And I have to say… that is one of the nicest public restroom I’ve seen. 🙂

    Like

  8. October 24, 2011 10:36 AM

    These are beautiful, Roberta. Love the outhouse too!

    Like

  9. October 28, 2011 12:35 PM

    The color of the water is indeed beautiful! Was it foggy? Loe the pictures!

    Like

  10. December 9, 2012 9:28 AM

    I can’t figure out how you are post processing your photographs, but they are superb!

    Like

    • December 9, 2012 3:24 PM

      I use Picasa because it’s free and then have been experimenting with using textures..

      Like

      • December 9, 2012 3:29 PM

        I would never have guessed that it is Picasa. I use Picasa too, but with considerably less success! 🙂 I suppose that proves you don’t need fancy graphics programs, after all, in order to produce superb photographs! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

