Skip to content

Small Town Sizzle

July 10, 2012

When it’s hot it’s hot! Last night the weatherman said it’s supposed to be cooking in Palm Springs at 118 degrees. I have tried to put the memories of living there during the summer on the back burner. My body doesn’t like anything above 82 these days. We are still adjusting to living in a small town. Working in a library I am exposed to all sorts of books. I often see individuals and think they would make a good character in a book. The book At Home in Mitford by Jan Karon  is based on a small town. The main character is the priest and his parishioners add to the color, flavor and charm  of the North Carolina town. Northern Exposure was a television program that came out in the nineties. I caught a few episodes of this comedy. It appealed to me at the time because it was based on life in Alaska and all of its  quirky and eccentric residents….Maybe I have a plot for a book. Not sure it would be a best seller but you never know…I remember trying to cool off by playing in the sprinkler..

These Hawaiian Blue Eyes were purchased yesterday and new to our yard. I found an old wooden ice cream container for making ice cream. Instead of ice cream it has flowers in it..

What a beauty this Dahlia is that we saw in one of our neighbors yard

Once again I am dazzled by the appearance of a new Gardenia flower. I don’t know if it’s just my lack of impatience or not but they seem to be slow growing. But when they do open up I savor their  beauty..

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2012 2:22 PM

    Ooooh…we loved watching Northern Exposure. It was such a good show. Life in a small town has its ups and downs and usually it is in one extreme or the other. Stories about small towns are interesting. I think it would be a winner. Take care and these are lovely photos.

    Like

  2. July 10, 2012 5:16 PM

    Roberta, my friend. This photo is magical, all are very beautiful.

    Like

  3. July 10, 2012 8:46 PM

    Thank you..Carlos!

    Like

  4. July 11, 2012 10:00 AM

    Lovely images, Roberta! And let me know when the book is published. I love the Mitford series. 🙂

    Like

  5. July 11, 2012 10:02 AM

    Dear Roberta, Beautiful. I love Jan Karon’s books as well. Thank you, Ellen

    Like

  6. July 11, 2012 5:36 PM

    Wonderful images. Northern Exposure is one of my all-time favorite TV series. Watched the DVDs sooooo many times.

    Like

  7. July 11, 2012 10:15 PM

    Beautiful pictures of the flowers. I like small towns. There’s something relaxed and integrated about living in a small town, where most people know everything that’s going on. But most of all, I love libraries, where I used to spend most of my time when I was young. Now the internet competes with the advantages of the library… but I still have a very special feeling for just about any library. They are the true jewels of both cities and towns.

    Like

  8. July 12, 2012 9:44 PM

    Beautiful flowers and a small town: they go together.

    Like

  9. July 17, 2012 2:05 PM

    Very beautiful flower-photos, Roberta.

    Like

Leave a Reply

