Skip to content

Comfort Zone/Comfort Clothes

July 28, 2012

I have started painting again after a very long break from it.We still have a few rooms to paint and today I am working on a bathroom. I am wearing one of my favorite denim shirts that needs to be put to rest as it is quite tattered and not looking very good. I have no problem wearing it around the house but I think it’s time to let it go. These denim shorts are something I have not let go of and they are not cutoffs of comfort..because they don’t fit. Over the past years I have kept them to use them as a gauge. I definitely have comfort clothes. In years past it would have been a pair of jeans and a flannel shirt. I love cotton and I don’t like anything clingy. I know about comfort food very well and it is called Chocolate. Some of my comfort zones are pretty well ingrained but I have been thinking a lot about change lately and that it is time to let go of certain things. Some are things that can be replaced easily and some will bring freedom in many ways. I have learned that you can teach an old dog new tricks.. It may take a lot of patience but it is possible.

I was fascinated with the patterns in these leaves. It’s  so cool to see that they are all different. Just like you and me. Some of us pattern our lives after  some one who has been influential in our life  and  some of us live out of the box and ya never know what we are going to be up to next.. For me it will be getting out of a comfort zone or two..

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2012 2:29 PM

    We tend not to grow too much (and I don’t mean in size) when we don’t venture out of our comfort zone–I like your chocolate reference and the leaves have interesting patterns. It’s not easy sometimes but we need to all try new things. Good luck! And, thank you.

    Like

  2. July 28, 2012 3:10 PM

    Roberta I’ve loved this post. Your words and spirit of them are very true, it is good to read and hear from you, there are always interesting things here in your world …
    Adiós
    Carlos

    Like

  3. July 29, 2012 8:49 AM

    I’ve got an old sex pistols T shirt ” God Save the Queen” one rather apt for this year that I still roam around in…. that is my comfort clothes 🙂

    Like

  4. July 29, 2012 9:37 PM

    oh, I so love being within my own comfort zone…but when I do venture out of it, I learn so much and grow and change in positive ways. But, I have noticed that letting go of a few of those comfortable ways has actually brought relief! good luck to you, Roberta!

    Like

  5. July 30, 2012 7:56 AM

    A beatuiful post, Roberta! If we are growing, our comfort zones need to change. I always need to remind myself that the only thing that doesn’t change is God. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

