Skip to content

Flash Flood…

August 17, 2012

This is my first experience with a flash flood… in this  area. It started with me hearing a roar or sound as though a large vehicle was parked outside. The last time I heard it a few days ago I was clueless but not this time.. I must admit it shook me to the core but I ran across the street to capture the photos and video taped as well. My concern is for neighbors and I would hope that there were no hikers today… Just as I write  tractors have gone by and just heard a siren whiz by..

16 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2012 2:53 PM

    Oh my Roberta, flash floods really are frightening and deadly. I hope no one was hurt and that you are ok. My brother and SIL in Nuevo were in the midst of that tornado like weather on Sunday and Monday. They had to keep water and mud from coming into their home from the farm fields across the street. Water is so powerful…

    Like

  2. August 17, 2012 3:29 PM

    Oh my God, seems so scray, dear! I hope nothing happened bad… You did amazing shots. Thank you, have a nice weekend, love, nia

    Like

    • August 17, 2012 8:22 PM

      Hi Nia, I admit it was scary since I had never seen anything like it before..Thank you for writing…my friend.

      Like

  3. August 17, 2012 5:12 PM

    How scary ….I hope no one was in the riverbed!

    Like

    • August 17, 2012 8:23 PM

      I hope so too..There is a meeting going on to discuss bears but I’m sure they will be talking flood..

      Like

  4. August 17, 2012 5:57 PM

    Wow! That is so powerful! Take care and be careful!

    Like

  5. August 17, 2012 8:17 PM

    I hope you are safe and no one was hurt!

    Like

    • August 17, 2012 8:25 PM

      We are fine, thank you but it will take me a while to calm down. They say rain tomorrow as well..

      Like

  6. Michael permalink
    August 19, 2012 3:32 AM

    I hope all was well in the end and nothing too serious happened – good to see the photo journalist/ war photographer coming out in you – take care of yourself

    Like

    • August 20, 2012 11:17 AM

      Lol! I am trying to let the photo journalist come out of hiding.. even though I was shaking.. I have missed some good pics of bears lately, according to my husband one had a bag of Cheetos in his mouth. That would have been a good one. I am working on it..Only a few people had to get rescued, one puppy got lost for a few days but was found yesterday. No one was harmed and am thankful for that..

      Like

  7. August 20, 2012 10:23 AM

    Wow that looks pretty scary Roberta, I don’t think I could have been as brave as you to go out and take photos! I hope that your homeplace is safe from floods like this, and that your neighbours were OK.

    Like

    • August 20, 2012 11:10 AM

      Hi Eadaoin, it was scary and I had to muster up bravery for those few minutes. It really made me think about the forces of nature and natural disasters..Thank you for stopping by..

      Like

  8. bonniehull permalink
    September 6, 2012 6:22 PM

    Good Lord girl…intrepid girl reporter!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

