Skip to content

Balancing Act

January 3, 2013

A few days ago we went on a short hike. It was cold with snow on the ground. Momyer Creek Trail is just a few miles from our home. The trail is protected by massive Oak trees, so therefore very little snow on the trail. My eyes scoured the area looking for things of interest. The New Year has begun and I thought that this balancing Acorn shell to be an appropriate expression of where I am at in life. This image speaks volumes to me. Isn’t it amazing how nature can do that. There are areas of my life that I am challenged by to say it nicely. As I reflect on what change is needed I was reminded that it is all about balance in one’s life.

Life offers us many wonderful opportunities for learning, maturing, growing, making changes, giving, sharing, accomplishing, creating, etc. In all of this I speak to myself in the areas that need change.

With gratitude for each day I will keep on, keeping on, one step and one day at a time…

And speaking of change I have started a new Photo Blog at this link. You can expect to see from quirky to eclectic as time goes on.. and anything in between. Please stop by for a visit…

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2013 10:28 AM

    Balancing our lives is so easy to say, but so difficult to do! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Ellen permalink
    January 3, 2013 1:03 PM

    I think I can relate to your balancing acorn. Great shot! Blessings.

    Like

    • January 5, 2013 8:25 AM

      You can out run me on any day… lol! You are a busy lady but you need balance too. Thank you ..Ellen!

      Like

  3. January 4, 2013 6:25 AM

    I love how you started with the tiny shot of the balancing acorns, moved to a medium picture to give us some breathing room, and then ended with the grand vista to encourage us to remember the “BIG PICTURE”. Genius, my dear…

    Like

    • January 5, 2013 8:23 AM

      Natalie, I am not sure what I did..but I’ll take the credit..Lol! Thank you!

      Like

  4. January 5, 2013 5:36 AM

    Balance is coming hard to me too. I’m glad you stopped by my blog so I,could be directed to yours. Your words are well worth reading and your photos are fabulous. I wish I knew what you meant by Bonnie’s free textures in your ‘In other words…’ post. I am trying to learn new things in photography and bloggers have so many suggestions and ideas. If you feel so inclined, please explain. Now I’m off to your photo blog…:-)

    Like

    • January 5, 2013 8:37 AM

      Hi Thank you for your comment… Bonnie at Pixel Dust Photo Art offers backgrounds and textures for all to use. Some are free and some are not.There is software that can be purchased to used for processing and adding many creative touches to your photos. I use Picasa because it does not cost anything and it allows me to do quite a bit. There is a process where I call it overlapping. Putting two pictures together and giving your photo a different look, adding texture can give it a vintage look or just brighten it up. You can tweek the colors, make it black and white, sepia and so much more. If you look at my Photo Art Friday images, I have used her free textures that she offers at her blog. Usually there is a link underneath that you can download. I am so glad you are interested as it is all so much fun. I have learned from others. I will share more with you and if you have questions don’t hesitate to ask.. Check out picasa.. (:

      Like

      • January 5, 2013 5:20 PM

        Thank you,! I will look into Bonnie and picasa for certain. I may take you up on the help πŸ™‚

        Like

  5. January 5, 2013 1:48 PM

    Beautiful life reflections and photos!

    Like

Leave a Reply

