Skip to content

Expeditioner’s

January 14, 2013

We met and talked to these young men on Saturday as they prepared to take off to hike up Vivian Creek Trail. All of them are from Southern, California. The mother-hen in me comes out when I see the young people backpacking as I get concerned for their safety and warmth. Sunday morning was about 20 degrees so I wondered about their night on the mountain. I asked my husband to drive to Big Falls which is a few minutes from us to see if their vehicle was there or not…When he left it was about six pm and he said he passed their Jeep on the road. While at the parking lot he talked to a couple that had spent the night up on the mountain and said the trail was very icy. What adventuresome individuals…

DSCN5798

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2013 7:33 PM

    Great photos, I love that you are looking out for these guys! xo Viv

    Like

  2. January 15, 2013 5:47 AM

    Since I live in Oregon near Portland I’m surrounded by more nature than most have seen in a lifetime. In fair weather I love to hike to the top or bottom of waterfalls. I also have many secret trails I frequent that are full of all sorts of creepy critters and things. In fair weather these are all good exercise for me, a diabetic. There is a dark side to hiking as each year we lose people to Mother Nature in the mountains & passes surrounding us. It’s an unfortunate side of dealing with nature.

    Like

    • January 16, 2013 12:10 PM

      It’s nice to hear about your adventurous nature… Just over the weekend a father and two young son’s died..Very sad….

      Like

  3. January 15, 2013 7:58 AM

    They look like they were pretty well equipped. I’ve gotten spoiled lately myself and prefer to make the winter hikes during the day and sleep in a warm house at night.

    Like

  4. March 12, 2014 9:22 PM

    Love the sepia tone on the top pic. Could be from years ago. I, too, love old things…unfortunately, hubby love new things….lots of compromise! Gail at Making Life An Art

    Like

    • March 12, 2014 10:06 PM

      Thank you! I love experimenting and I love observing people and used to see many hikers and backpackers that would spend a few days and nights at the top of Mt. San Gorgonio in CA. I admire them for their spirit of adventure.. My oldest son hiked the Pacific Crest Trail when he was a young man, so hikers always spark my interest… I kind of wish I could have hiked with him.. but not so sure about carrying a heavy backpack… I loved a book called Walking the Gobi by Helen Thayer. She was in her sixties and I believe her husband was older. It is a great book. I worked in a library and would come across many fascinating books..

      Like

Leave a Reply

