Skip to content

Show and Tell

July 25, 2013

Earlier, something triggered the memory of being in elementary school and one of my teachers gave us an opportunity to bring something each week and tell our class about it. It  conjured up the thought of innocence of childhood in the fifties. Riding bikes, roller skating with metal skates, jacks, pick-up-sticks, jump rope, metal lunch pails, trading cards, Howdy Doody, the Mouseketeers, Lassie, Captain Kangaroo, The Little Rascals etc. Days have changed and there is the promotion of much that I feel children should not have to be exposed to at their young age. Not to say that there were not issues in family households and with the world back then…but still, my thoughts linger on my Roy Rogers and Dale Evans lunch pail, enclosed with a tuna sandwich and small bag of Fritos. Now, those were the days my friends.

DSCN9147-002

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2013 3:59 PM

    I like the reflection of the stripes in the bowl.

    Like

  2. Ellen permalink
    July 25, 2013 4:02 PM

    Those were the days for sure. Love the reflection on the bowl and yes…now I want a tuna sandwich and fritos or potato chips! 🙂

    Like

  3. July 25, 2013 8:10 PM

    Those certainly were the days, Roberta. I remember them well. Great photo. And yes, the reflection adds a great touch.

    Like

  4. July 25, 2013 8:15 PM

    Yes, those were good days. Much simpler and cleaner.

    Like

  5. July 26, 2013 5:38 AM

    At 64 I certainly grew up in the era you’ve recalled. Parents weren’t paranoid about locking their door, keeping fanatical watch over their children at home and especially in public. We didn’t lock our doors at home or our cars when we were out in public. We didn’t need huge chains and padlocks for our bicycles. We all got on the bus that took us to school. I was never driven to school by my father. My mother never learned to drive. She was a stay at home, hard working mother. No soccer mom there, no ballet lessons or musical instruments either. We played baseball and rode our bicycles with baseball card held by spring clip clothespins. We drank milk with out bagged lunch at school. 2 cents for white and 3 cents for chocolate. There was no 2% or skim milk. Popsicles were 5 cents and fudgesicles were 7 cents. I miss it all and come to tears when I see the life children face today. Sadly, our world is broken.

    Like

    • July 26, 2013 9:37 AM

      Yes, I agree wholeheartedly… The exposure to the lack of modesty and the lack of self control with vocabulary is sad..My grandchildren are hearing and seeing and takes from them their innocence..

      Like

  6. July 27, 2013 12:42 PM

    I had a Roy Rogers lunchbox with a Dale Evans thermos! As for the rest of your list – the trading cards weren’t a part of my life, but everything else was. Did you wear your skate key around your neck on a ribbon?

    Here’s a wonderful video that captures some of the innocence of that time! Brand New Roller Skates

    Like

Leave a Reply

