Skip to content

Meet Gustave

October 25, 2013

DSCN2628Last year when I was in a book store in Santa Fe, New Mexico this book of postcards caught my eye. I had never heard of Gustave Baumann before and as I scanned it, I knew that I wanted  to purchase it. I was drawn to his style of work, just as I am to Georgia O’Keeffe. Why I did not get one of her books of postcards I do not know. Anyway to see his work you can click on this link. To learn a little about him you can go to the above link. I have had an interest in drawing and painting and have not done anything with this interest, but it keeps nagging at me. With some of my photography I like to process my photos as it makes me feel as though I have a paint brush in hand. I like to experiment.

dscn2559-001.jpg

This was taken while we were putting around in our jeep the other day. I depend on my camera to catch what I might miss. I end up deleting a lot of them but some I keep so I can add my touch to them. I have paints and recently purchased oil pastels. I have dabbled in drawing just a bit but don’t know where to start. I know there are many artists on WordPress and I’d appreciate some suggestions as to how to get started..

vintagekeeper8-012.jpgThis is an example of what I like to do and I can see myself using pastels or something to get this look.

More photo manipulation. These are Rosaries hanging from a tree… I do hope you enjoy the info on this gentleman. It makes me want to find out more about him.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2013 11:49 AM

    Thank you dear Roberta, I loved his paintings. Have a nice weekend, love, nia

    Like

  2. October 25, 2013 12:53 PM

    I really like your manipulations. I have no knowledge about the oil pastels but the idea sounds interesting.

    Like

  3. October 25, 2013 2:00 PM

    Those Baumann prints are lovely. I spent a few minutes looking through more images of his online. Thanks for sharing them!

    Like

  4. October 25, 2013 4:35 PM

    It’s wonderful to find an artist that inspires you. Baumann’s work is lovely.

    Like

  5. October 26, 2013 4:57 AM

    Lovely!

    Like

  6. October 27, 2013 5:54 PM

    I couldn’t get the link to his work to – ah – work. 😦
    And of course I know nothing of painting. Another 😦
    But I love your manipulations and have gotten some ideas from your talents. 🙂
    Start at the beginning. Isn’t that what ‘they’ say. Just set brush to canvas and let it flow. What can go wrong?
    Good luck.

    Like

  7. November 13, 2013 5:24 AM

    Postcard collecting (deltiology) is one of the most popular collectible hobbies in the United States, Canada and internationally, surpassed in popularity only by coin collecting (numismatics) and stamp collecting. The old antique postcard evokes memories of the past and provides an interesting glimpse into the social history, cultural history and material culture of the time. Known also as a “penny post card” and a “picture post card,” vintage postcards have been collectibles since their 1890s Victorian-era inception.

    Like

Leave a Reply

