Skip to content

Kid and Cat Tales

October 29, 2013

What joy it brought me to spend time with these little guys, my grandson’s, even if it was with undivided attention. Lol! I love this photo! It reminds me to my two older son’s who were about the same in years apart.

DSCN2662

DSCN2637

We have named this kitten, Smokey. He, we think and are not sure yet?? leads the way for the other three. They live under the cover of wood piles and wood decks for shelter. We are feeding them. My heart wonders what to do? Do you leave them to live in the wild and have freedom to roam and explore and just wish them well? I have not seen their mother lately…

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2013 1:57 PM

    Are they feral? We fed feral cats for a long time. We captured them and had they spayed and neutered. Some areas have free or reduced services for feral cats. If they aren’t feral you might try finding them homes. xo Laura

    Like

    • October 29, 2013 6:53 PM

      Hi Laura, We have been checking around. The few places that take cats and no kill are swamped. I know Los Angeles has spay/neuter and release but that is quite a distance. We have four of our own but if there was a way, I’d keep them too..

      Like

  2. October 29, 2013 4:59 PM

    Smokey is a beautiful kitten.

    Like

  3. October 29, 2013 6:43 PM

    The grandchildren shot is awesome. Smokey is dreamy and adorable. How could you ever turn your back on that adorable-ness. 😉

    Like

    • October 29, 2013 6:50 PM

      Thank you Gemma, I could cat nap all of them…Kids and all, not sure how our other four spoiled cats would feel…lol!

      Like

      • October 30, 2013 7:34 AM

        It’s tricky. We had a cat and then got another. The first cat – ah – peed on everything plastic after the new cat came in. Not a good situation. 😦

        Like

  4. October 31, 2013 3:56 AM

    That’s a great photo of the kids – I like the treatment. As for Smokey, that is one dignified and handsome kitty. When I got home Monday night from my trip, I couldn’t make eye contact with Dixie Rose because she refused to come out from under the bed. She wasn’t having any of my overtures, either. Now, she’s out and back in her usual chair, and we’re making up for two weeks without brushing. 😉

    Like

    • October 31, 2013 8:43 AM

      Thank you Linda! I am not a grandmother that gets to see my grandchildren often..due to the dynamics of family…Smokey is the leader of the pack and kind of regal as he waits by the sliding door to get fed. Has a sweet little meow..Lizzy the bully will go to a Bed and Breakfast for a short stay while we go out of town for the wedding. I am kidding but she will be boarded and that will allow Riley freedom to roam the house without being hounded. I had hoped that Lizzy would have a different attitude after living in the forest for five weeks… I am glad all is well with Dixie Rose…It take them awhile to get into the swing of things.. Have a great day!

      Like

  5. fabala24 permalink
    October 31, 2013 9:05 AM

    Your grandchildren are very cute. I like the way your photo looks like a drawing. Smokey is a cute kitty too! If he is still a kitten, could he be young enough to work as a pet? He looks like a pet, that he seems well fed and not straggly….. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • October 31, 2013 9:52 AM

      Hello Fabala, Smokey is one of four that we have been feeding. Because we are wanting to sell our home and move out of state we were not keen on starting to feed them because we thought our home was going to sell quickly at the home. Now things have changed and it looks like we’ll be here for awhile. So, I would gladly welcome Smokey into our lives but as for the other three and we already have four so I am not sure on what direction to go. If I could I would bundle them all off and haul with us..

      Like

  6. November 2, 2013 9:32 AM

    Taking a peek around your blog – I just became a follower.
    What a sweet picture of your grandsons. Time with them is precious.
    Smokey is adorable. I’m a cat lover so I’m happy to hear you are feeding them. Hopefully you might give one of them a home and perhaps find homes for the others.

    Like

    • November 2, 2013 11:08 AM

      Thank you Ida! We are doing what we can for them. I have done some research..Most places are swamped. Happy to have you join me here…(:

      Like

Leave a Reply

