Skip to content

Against the Grain

December 10, 2013

We found ourselves trekking through the snow a few days ago. There is something about snowfall that compels me to go outdoors. I guess it could be because I was deprived of it, in my youth.

DSCN3744This morning I overheard a conversation on television. They were talking about how children are not permitted to say Merry Christmas in school. I don’t know whether this is written in cement or not. Growing up in the fifties it was ok… to say Merry Christmas! I will stay with this and not conform to our world’s standards. Yes, I respect other faith’s and beliefs. America has always been a melting pot of different cultures. People have had the freedom of speech and can pretty much fling around all kinds of filthy words without a problem. I will stand my ground and not that I want to offend anyone. That is not the point. It is about my faith, my belief that Jesus is the Reason for the Season. I love all of the Christmas songs that I learned in school as a child. It was not a big deal. Now everyone takes offense. There is beauty in this season. I will continue to abide by what I have learned and come to know.. Besides the man upstairs has gotten me out of many a pickle..

DSCN3734

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2013 10:44 AM

    The snow is gorgeous! I was so hoping we might have a flake or two with our cold weather, but no such luck. So, now I want it to warm up so I can get back to work.

    As for not allowing Merry Christmas in schools, or Christmas trees, or even the colors red and green in some cases (!) we here in Texas have that taken care of. By state law, no one can be expelled from school, etc., for the high crime and misdeamenor of saying “Merry Christmas” or wearing a sweater with a Christmas tree on it.

    It really seems to me that certain administrators and teachers are the problem. In some of the cases I’ve read about, the parents have been incensed, and the communities at large have pitched fits. My goodness. What a mess.

    When I was in school, Christmas and Hanukkah were both part of our holiday seasons. We shared our different cultural traditions – especially all the different cookies! It was loads of fun, and I intend to continue enjoying Christmas, just as I enjoy my friends Hanukkah traditions. And I’ve always figured that even people who don’t believe in God or Santa like a good cookie – they’re welcome to some of mine!

    Like

  2. December 10, 2013 10:56 AM

    I’m with you on this..It was so simple.. Singing Christmas carols, learning about other kinds of traditions, the exchange of a simple gift, handmade or homemade, maybe providing a warm cup of cocoa or cider for someone that’s cold or maybe even a warm article of clothing.. Not complicated at all!

    Like

  3. Ellen permalink
    December 10, 2013 11:08 AM

    Ha! Oh yes, He’s gotten me out of many a pickle, too. A very Merry Christmas to you.

    Like

  4. December 10, 2013 3:22 PM

    I totally agree with you. When I was teaching, it was starting to get to the point where you needed to just go with a “winter theme’ in the classroom. Bah! Humbug! Is it going to get to a point where we don’t notice, pay respect to, or celebrate anything, just to play it safe? Merry Christmas, Roberta.

    Like

  5. December 10, 2013 5:24 PM

    I agree with you too, Roberta!

    Like

  6. elmediat permalink
    December 12, 2013 6:01 AM

    Extreme sensitivity is creeping into Canada as well. Often it is ignorance of other faiths & cultures . Because “they do not know enough” about the other guys, “the powers that be” try not offend by over compensating. Often the other faiths/cultures just want some shared acknowledgement of their customs. Diwali( festival of light ) greetings or educating the young on the similarities as opposed to stressing the differences. That shows cultural sensitivity & broadens the young’s understanding of human diversity.

    As a recently retired teacher, I get annoyed by the lack of common sense that has entered into the policy makers approach to so many aspects of social learning. Much is governed by fear of being sued rather than sensible classroom management . The recent example in the States of a young child being disciplined for ” sexual harassment ” because he kissed another child’s hand stands out policy of the absurd.

    Like

  7. December 12, 2013 12:57 PM

    Things seem a bit ridiculous today. Everything is taken to extremes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

