Old Man Winter

He showed up today. I am just going to say “yippe.” I was feeling a bit green with envy seeing all the beautiful winter photos being posted. I am just kidding about that, as I understand that many are looking for signs of spring to show up. This was our very first stroll in the snow in the state of Oregon. For some reason, it is very easy for me to venture out with my camera in hand. We are near the Santiam  River and we made this discovery, this morning.

DSCN4351Not too far from our home

DSCN4363

DSCN4366Geese across the river

DSCN4367We observed them for a few minutes until they jumped in, and went with the flow of the river..

14 thoughts on “Old Man Winter

  1. Well! I’m envious, and I’m not going to deny it. Snow got within maybe 125 miles from me this morning, but nothing here except coldcoldgraycoldgray. 😉

    Your photos are beautiful. And the colors are true. The photo I used for my background of Mary Oliver’s poem is unretouched, except for cropping and a little sharpening. Winter’s colors are subtle, but just as lovely.

    • I am sure you are Laura! I wish for you to have some bright sunshiney days in the near future. I know you have had to deal with it for quite a while now.. Take care!

  2. Those pictures are so lovely, and make me want to get out and about and take some winter scenery. It has been so cold though, I’m becoming a winter hermit and feeling rather lazy. 🙂

  3. You can say, Yippee because it’s your blog. – Besides while many (including myself) are look forward to spring I’m discovering a certain sense of beauty in winter after all. – Those geese seem to have adjusted to the wintery weather quite well.

Leave a Reply

