New Name and Calling in Life

DSCN5254On January 31 rst, I wrote this…Mother Hen.Well, today my husband found this book at an estate sale. Because of this and for another reason I am changing my WordPress online name to Mother Hen. In 1998 my oldest son hiked the Pacific Crest Trail. Since that time I have developed an interest in hikers and now my husband is on board too. Maybe I’ll name him Rooster.Lol! Anyway because April was the kickoff month for Pacific Crest Trail hikers to start their journey, I have decided to follow some of their blogs and journals.

dscn6542-001.jpgThis path will lead to the trail in Whitewater, California. The trail starts along the California/Mexico border.

DSC_0187We came across this sign a few weeks ago while on our way to Sisters, Or

dscn3681-004.jpgThis is the way to get to the trail from the road. There is quite a big area of burned out trees. Because we have only been in Oregon since Christmas Day I don’t know when the fire took place. The PCT is 2,650 miles. In my Mother Hennish ways, I shall be on the sidelines, saying some prayers and cheering them on for a successful journey.

12 thoughts on “New Name and Calling in Life

  1. Love your new name! And that’s quite a hike. I’ve never heard of it. It’ll be fun to follow along a bit, and hear your observations about the hike, and whatever else catches your attention.

    Wasn’t it Henny Penny who kept running around, telling everyone the sky was falling? I haven’t thought about her in ages.

  2. What is so interesting is that there is a mixture of young and older, guys and gals. Can’t say that I would attempt alone but do wish I had at least hiked with my son a bit, just for the experience.

    • Hi Patti! I thought so too..There were others but too pricey for more, and I think just meant to be. There are quite a few ladies on the trail. I admire their tenacity to go for it..

  3. Love your new name and your new calling! I didn’t know that hikers’ journals were posted online; I’ll find time to explore these. My eldest brother-in-law hiked the PC trail with his then gf after graduating college. The story goes that he always left his gf in the dust, so to speak, hiking miles ahead of her, then making camp at the end of the day, confident that she would arrive on her own. The system worked for them and when they got home, he told his mother , “She’s the girl for me.” They’ve been married for 30 years and have 3 beautiful children. Now in their fifties, they take a week-long backpacking trip together with their children every year. Last year I asked Colleen, “Did you train for the trip?” She yawned. “No, but I probably should have…I got 13 blisters.” She had no problem whatsoever making it to the finish line though. Once a backpacker, always a backpacker? 🙂

Leave a Reply

