Skip to content

Liquid Gold

June 20, 2014

We recently purchased a small jar of honey at a street market. It was delicious! The next time we went back, we purchased the quart size for $15.00. We don’t use a lot of honey, so I think it will last us awhile. On our way through a different town we stopped at their Thursday street market and the same size jar of honey was being sold for $25.00. I am not sure what kind it was, but the amount was too pricey for our pockets. This morning I read a post by blogger Melanie at Love Library. It hit home as she addresses the practicality of living in a frugal manner. She and her husband live in a restored Airstream. They both work and are saving money in hopes of purchasing a house with cash. As I thought about this, it made me review how I spend money, on what, and am I saving any. I thought about how I had just purchased a couple of denim shirts and a pair of denim capris. Well, they were all on sale. I don’t pay full price for any article of clothing. Last November, before going to a wedding, I got online looking at dresses and the prices were crazy. If I am in the vicinity of  thrift store’s  I like to check them out. It’s amazing what you can find at a decent one. Sometimes items are like new. There are many that are living on meager incomes. I would like to think that one could find some bargains at a street market, as in considering that they keep their products at a reasonable rate. I believe that we are meant to be good stewards of  money, and yes, important to consider others with what we have. In this day and age some people live in the MORE is Better mentality.  I know I sure have room for improvement. Prices continue to escalate. I love reading about families that are growing their own food and making use of what they have and being creative. Everyday we are bombarded with ads and commercials that try to influence us to buy this brand or that food.  Maybe it’s time to get my piggy bank out and start filling it up. I just might surprise myself.. ps You may or may not have noticed that I have changed this blog name to Words Like Honey. The reason for this name, is because I truly believe in the importance of words that we use in our everyday life. Words can bring hope and encouragement and in our world of unpredictability they can bring light and sunshine to any heart.

 

Proverbs 16:24  Pleasant  words are like a honeycomb, Sweet to the soul and healing to the bones.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2014 3:35 PM

    Yes, nice post. I’m trying to be more careful with money as well, but it’s almost impossible. We are being always exposed to so many tentations. The proverb is great!

    Like

  2. Ellen permalink
    June 20, 2014 3:45 PM

    Very clean look here! Love the proverb…

    Like

  3. June 20, 2014 4:40 PM

    I like your new look and the new blog name.

    Like

  4. June 20, 2014 8:27 PM

    Liquid Gold is right! I like the new look of your blog, too.

    Like

  5. June 21, 2014 5:11 AM

    I was just talking to my husband about how it use to be people had to have a big house, trendy furniture, fancy car, fashionable clothes and now they even have to have the latest computer technology and the most current smart phone – money, money, money. I prefer your outlook. 🙂

    Like

    • June 23, 2014 3:43 PM

      Hi Judy, I think I just want to pay attention to my spending and not think that I need every little thing that I see…

      Like

  6. June 21, 2014 11:08 AM

    I love the name of your blog and its origin in Proverbs, as well as your theme of mindfulness and thrift in this post. Before I married my husband, I bought everything new. I had difficulty adapting to his ways of shopping at flea markets. But I’ve decorated my entire house from the flea market (for under $200) with items that, had I been able to afford them from antique or specialty stores, would have cost thousands. We are also frugal travelers, having purchased most of our expedition gear used. An unexpected outcome of this shift for me is that it makes acquisitions more personal. I often find myself wondering about their backstory. 🙂

    Like

    • June 23, 2014 3:39 PM

      Hi Vivian! There are certain things that I like new, but I am always open to finding some treasure along the way.. I hope that one day we can purchase a small trailer, as in a Casita or something of that sort. We are not to far from the coast and it would be wonderful to plant ourselves there for a few days.. I’d better save my pennies!

      Like

  7. June 22, 2014 5:22 AM

    A lovely new look to your blog. I’m especially happy to be able to read it so easily! So many young bloggers these days are using lovely, muted apricots, baby blues and gray for the text and links. It looks wonderful, but I’ve often given up trying to even read the darned things.

    A friend recently attended her son’s wedding, and her tales of trying to find something to wear that was both appropriate for the 75 year old mother of a nearly 50 year old groom were hilarious. Her new rule of thumb: the less fabric in the dress, the higher the cost. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

