First Timers

DSCN5976Our first self picking experience began with these strawberries. We were pretty happy to fill our little buckets to save a few dollars.

DSCN6768These Blueberries were recently picked at Berkeys in Lebanon, Oregon. Another fun time!

DSCN6731These are called Dukes, and we picked enough to last us awhile. I am looking up recipes for either scones or blueberry muffins. So far, I don’t have all the ingredients needed, so it will mean a trip to the grocery store. Some recipes are calling for buttermilk, cream, or lemon zest. Hmm! Something easy would be nice! But putting them in our cereal or yogurt will work out quite well.

9 thoughts on “First Timers

  1. Isn’t it fun? I found a farm only 15 minutes away from home that I didn’t know existed. I had sweet corn from there last night, with sliced tomatoes. Tonight, it was a BLT (except I prefer BT sandwiches. Lettuce belongs in a salad.) And my freezer is full of blackberries and blueberries — just crammed. I went blackberry picking 5 nights, and have probably 20 pounds. Blueberries, maybe the same.

    Right now, I’m cooking blackberries on top of the stove because I don’t have any more room in the freezer. I was only going to make one cobbler and freeze the rest, but I guess two cobblers will just have to do. Oh, my goodness. There’s nothing better. I’m glad you had a good time.

    If I were a canning sort, the farm has rows and rows and rows of tomatoes, and they’re selling their cooking tomatoes five pounds for a dollar. Can you say, bumper crop?

    • Mmm..sweet corn and tomatoes..yum! Wow..Linda, that’s neat to hear. We stopped at a place that sells (Tayberry) raspberries and will have to pay them a visit another time. I may try my hand at canning sometime, as we have neighbors that would be happy to show the ropes to this former desert rat..lol! I think I am going to get some learn’n…

Leave a Reply

