Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

DSCN6261-001

As I feel a slight tinge of coolness, it takes me back to this slightly out of focus photo, that I took on our way back home from Eugene. As I have mentioned before, I do like to capture what I can as a passenger. Yesterday evening I was having to hunt for paperwork and I came across some letters from boys that I worked with in a residential treatment center. I admit, I was not well qualified for the position, but my best skill was in listening. I looked forward to the times that I got to sit with the group and let them pour out their concerns. Well, time was limited and there were some that found it easier to open up. That was a very special experience in my life. It was brief, but it taught me the importance of being a good listener. We don’t always have the right answers, or even have to say anything. Sometimes our eyes and expression will say it all. It broke my heart at times to listen to the hurt and disappointment in their voices as they vented. We are all travelers on this earth. We have an opportunity to make a difference in some way, as a parent, as a husband, wife, sister, brother, friend, teacher, acquaintance,employee, volunteer, and neighbor. We all fall short but when we do, we get up again and again and strive to do better, be a better person in this world. As the calamities increase on earth many are wondering where are we going in all of this. For my part I want to be a peacemaker, I want to listen, I want to see the beauty and the decay, as it reminds me of the frailty of human nature on earth. Non of us is exempt from wrong doing, but we all have room to grow and learn.

Come let us all reason together, says the Lord…..

