Skip to content

My Roots

November 19, 2014

I have previously shared that I like to collect postcards. It is not an obsessive hobby and there have been times in life that I did not bother with them. I will call it a casual hobby. I do participate with Postcrossing and it is so much fun to receive postcards from other countries. Along with this I also have a deep appreciation for vintage postcards. Life for me began in the community of Palm Springs, California, the year of 1951. I am a vintage along with the cards… Here and there I have picked up  postcards of Palm Springs.

DSCN0149I looked up the population for 1951 and it was around 45,000

DSCN0150

DSCN0152I found these in an antique store recently in Silverton, Or. I graduated from Palm Springs High School in 1969. Many years of my life were primarily in desert communities around Palm Springs. On Christmas Day it will be a year that we have lived in Oregon. Yesterday, we had a new experience in a large city. The hustle and bustle of city life is not for me, but I can appreciate sight-seeing and capturing what I can with my camera.

DSCN0382A window view of where we spent our day.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2014 1:57 PM

    Love the postcards. You and my hubby are the same vintage! It was a very good year. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. November 19, 2014 2:12 PM

    That’s a cool thing to do. You postcards are beautiful!

    Like

  3. November 19, 2014 3:10 PM

    Hey Roberta .. The postcards are super! The hustle and bustle of city life isn’t me any longer either. Nice to be able to change isn’t it? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • November 19, 2014 4:27 PM

      What I like is that they don’t cost very much and some are pretty outstanding. Yes, change is good. Keeps us from getting stagnate..Well, me anyway..lol!

      Like

  4. November 19, 2014 3:53 PM

    What a charming hobby whether its serious or not! Love the postcards, The surreal quality and colors are quite appealing. If I find any Palm Spring postcards — I got your back!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • November 19, 2014 4:29 PM

      Thanks so much! Who knows what you might find up your way.. I will have to share some of my favorites. Some are really bright…

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Ellen permalink
    November 19, 2014 4:23 PM

    I have some vintage post cards from the Los Angeles area that Dear’s parents had. I’ve only been in Palm Springs twice in my days in Southern California. Once in the 60’s for a parade with my junior high school and once in the early 70’s with my girlfriend and her mother…

    Like

    • November 19, 2014 4:31 PM

      That’s neat to have those from LA.. Palm Springs become quite popular as an in place for spring break.

      Like

  6. November 19, 2014 5:39 PM

    Fun collection. I think the vintage postcards are really neat. Great view there in OR.

    Like

  7. November 20, 2014 5:33 AM

    My dad collected postcards, though mostly for the stamps and postmarks. I like them, especially the kind you have here. They have such a lovely, nostalgic feel to them. I still pick up postcards of places I visit, although they’re getting harder to find. It’s a shame, but I suppose people don’t send postcards as regularly as they used to.

    Like

  8. November 20, 2014 10:09 AM

    When I first read the title I thought, “is she talking about her hair?” Then I thought, “No. Read on,” and I noticed that we are born in the same year and graduated in the same year – opposite sides of the U. S. It was fun looking at these. 🙂

    Like

  9. November 20, 2014 7:38 PM

    I wish I had known. I found a vintage 1950’s post card of Malbu California but I had sent it already to a friend a few months back:( These are cool.

    Liked by 1 person

    • November 20, 2014 7:46 PM

      Thank you for the consideration.. I am about anything vintage, just about..lol!

      Like

  10. November 22, 2014 8:54 AM

    Enjoyed seeing your postcards. In college, my roommate, a history major, collected historic postcards. Years later I saw a book entitled, Hot Springs in Vintage Postcards by Steven Hanley. He and his brother ended up doing a series of books using their vast collection of cards.

    Enjoying your blog.

    Like

    • November 22, 2014 1:22 PM

      I am glad you did.. I started collecting in elementary school, well not the vintage ones. Just saved the ones friends sent me when they were on vacation. That’s cool about the book. Over the summer I followed a few people that hiked the PCT. My son hiked it when he was a young man, so therefore the interest.. Take care and thank you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

