Skip to content

Like a Sponge

November 20, 2014

On Tuesday my husband had a morning appointment at the Portland, Veterans hospital. Other than driving by Portland we had not visited the city. While Mr.G, went to the various departments, I went outside to try to locate an area where I could get a decent view of Portland. It would have been easier to just go up a few flights, via the elevator, but I chose to brave the cold and wind and go outside. Because of my small town upbringing I get enthused about seeing new sights. I think I mentioned that in yesterday’s post. I absorb the scenery, sights and colors, kind of like a sponge. For my newer readers, I often take photographs while my husband is driving. Reason being is that I don’t want to miss anything interesting. As we drove up to the hospital I noticed water and I got so excited. The rode was windy and there were no full views because of all the trees. By the time we got to the hospital, I was eager to start exploring. I could overwhelm you with what I saw, so instead, I will keep my composure and dole out the photos a few at a time..

DSCN0341-001

DSCN0340-001

DSCN0336-004Mt St Helens in the background

DSCN0395-002

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Ellen permalink
    November 20, 2014 4:24 PM

    Most of my Portland experience has been a quick drive by heading to or from Southern California. It’s fun to stop and sit a spell and enjoy some of the views not from the car window!!

    Like

    • November 20, 2014 7:01 PM

      We have to go back next month. I look forward to seeing Christmas decorations.. Maybe we can figure out where to park and have lunch..

      Like

  2. November 20, 2014 7:36 PM

    what beautiful things your eyes saw and so strange I was there in Portland mid October and I fell in love with OR. I flew into Portland and drove to Manzanita. On my way back I had dinner with a good friend of mine who lives in Portland. It was just so nice. I hope all is well with your husband. You had mentioned your walk to see the sights and also mentioned the hospital then. I had not thought (silly me) to see if the reasons were okay or if it was a standard type appointment? Hope all is well. I’m just now getting to know you so I have lots of catch up. I do love your love of photography and taking it ALL in.

    Liked by 1 person

    • November 20, 2014 7:44 PM

      Hello! First I want to share this..
      http://seasonsofheart.wordpress.com/2014/11/20/greetings-from-emmit/
      You will like it, it is sweet and it is another blog of mine. Portland was cool and we have to go back next month. My hubby will have to have his shoulder redone. So that is what they are looking at. Thank you for your concern! When we signed papers for our home I recall one of the ladies saying that you could eat your way through Portland. Good thing we don’t live there..lol!

      Like

  3. November 20, 2014 7:54 PM

    oh yes, my friend says, Portland has the BEST food ever. I will check out your other blog:)

    Like

  4. November 21, 2014 4:38 AM

    I can see why you don’t want to take the elevator. There’s no view in there. (Except Cee at ceenphotography.com did a cute shot of inside an elevator – another story…) Keep on truckin’
    😉

    Like

  5. November 22, 2014 8:49 AM

    Great views!

    Like

Leave a Reply

