Where I Want to Be

I am thinking about John Denver again. I think it is because of our drive to Portland yesterday.There is a wonderful back road that will get us to Salem, and then from there Portland is not too far away. I love the slower pace of life and I find that when things get to hasty or stressful I lose my balance. I have talked about balance before. For me balance is a combination of my spiritual and emotional status, keeping a healthy perspective and outlook in life. I sometimes fail miserably. Then there is feeding my soul each day with positive food for thought, reading of the word or pondering on good healthy information, words of encouragement etc. How often do you come across someone who offers encouragement? I think people are depleted and need a boost. Are we willing to be that kind of person? When life is harsh and your are down all of the time and life looks bleak, we need a helping hand.

DSC_0018Sometimes we might have expectations that people should just bounce back or get a life. Many have not had good role models in life to set an example on the how too’s of making healthy choices. It is easy to point out the flaws in others. I am talking to myself on this subject. As I review these images, they remind me of where I want to be. There are stop signs, and we need to look both ways. Proceed with caution and go. Don’t speed and respect the laws of the land. Use wisdom and we will have a safer journey, not without bumps in the road but with challenges to help us learn and grow.

DSC_0008Take time to examine your internal conversation and checkout what is causing the lack of peace or stability in your thought life. Say yes to smelling roses or perhaps make a bouquet and give it away. Doing something special for someone  is always a remedy for getting out of a slump.

DSC_0048But most of all take time to be refueled and get refreshed, you will benefit greatly as well as those around you.. It is possible to have joy on the journey.. Enjoy it!

16 thoughts on “Where I Want to Be

  1. Am I going to build up or tear down? ..Encouragement IS a much needed thing these days. I see it so much working in Retail….Yep, I plan on being an encourager or keep my mouth shut if I don’t have nothing nice to say..LOL

  2. This is so wonderful! I loved all of it but your points about balance, evaluating yourself, and being refreshed really spoke to me! Thank you. Oh, I also like the idea that sometimes we need a little help. Thank you sister.

  3. All that you say is true. But there’s something else. When we find someone consistently pulling us down with their own negativity, pessimism or nastiness, it may be time to move on. Being kind is fine. Not returning kind for kind is better. But part of taking care of ourselves is being sure that we take in what nourishes us, not what depletes us. It can be hard, but it’s important.

  4. Just stumbled across your words by chance…it is Sunday morning and I am about to get up, greet and embrace the day, and play the organ up country as I offered to fill in and provide music for today’s service. Your words are very wise and very true and hit home right on the mark…having poor role models, needing to stop, proceed with caution, a positive approach will rub off on others…all such wise wise words. Over the years I have learnt that it is ok to be kind to yourself…

    Oh, I also did and still do like John Denver…that was the connection that drew me to your site! Thank you for your Sunday morning words, God Bless you and yours today, and I look forward to dipping into some more of your thoughts over time…

    And I so agree with the above reply, somtimes in order not to be emotionally drained dry we need to move away, in a kind way, and begin again, anew. Keeping good company is so important to the growing of ourselves/ our soul.

Leave a Reply

