Kind of Primitive

But it worked..

DSCN7336We will eventually purchase a honey extractor. Until then we will just have to be creative. This is from our first frame.

DSCN7342I take no credit for working with the bees. I only put the honey in the jar and Bee Man does the work. Bees are incredible. No lazy bone bees.  Our method will improve in time. I have an idea of using a crock to put underneath the strainer. We try to be thrifty, when we can. I sure hope children are learning about them. I do recall a book from the Magic School Bus series on Bees, that I came across while working at a library.

19 thoughts on “Kind of Primitive

  1. Thanks Judy.. I have another idea up my sleeve since we don’t have a crock big enough. We have more frames today but not sure if we will get to it. My husband has a brother in southern Ca. and no honey for them.No flowers around. There are a lot of blackberry bushes around this area. It has been very hot lately… ):

  2. That just looks wonderful. And if the method works, that’s all that counts. I made blackberry syrup last week, and was using some fairly primitive methods myself, since I’d never done it before and was trying to figure it out as I went.

    I finally found a local honey here, and it’s so, so good.

    • I actually discovered a stainless steel mixing bowl that will work perfectly. It will allow the strainer to be higher and the bowl has a handle which will make it easier to maneuver.

  3. Pingback: Kind of Primitive | Words Like Honey | WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

  4. Bee’s ? I could talk about them for hours 🙂 AND am doing my bit for them, lots of bee loving plants, no pesticides or weed killers of course but also leaving some wild grassy patches here and there and some old bits of timber for the solitary variety and for the bumble bee’s (to make nests in) we have 80 solitary species and twenty bumble bee species. We actually have only one native honey bee species in Ireland (hive variety)which is well able to tolerate our cold damp winters. Love your photos Mother hen especially of the hollyhock 🙂

    • Since we have moved to Oregon I have a different perspective on a lot of things that I most likely had taken for granted. Bees are amazing… We need to protect them from pesticides.. Nice chatting with you..Steph..

  5. You actually make it appear really easy with your presentation but I to find this topic to be actually something that I believe I might by no means understand.

    It sort of feels too complicated and very large for me.
    I’m looking forward for your subsequent put up, I will attempt to get the grasp of it!

    • The whole process of having bees and watching them as they work is totally amazing. I think we humans could learn from them… I am sure our bee keeping skills will improve in time.. Thank you for stopping by to visit and comment…

Leave a Reply

