Skip to content

Getting to Know You

November 12, 2015

I have never been one to just jump in to get involved in community activities or functions easily.ย  By nature I am on the quiet side but can get quite chatty, usually one on one, when the opportunity arises. I took the plunge recently and decided to join our local Senior center painting class. The sweet lady that talked me into it, had such enthusiasm for the class, that I found it rather convincing, as she shared the details. Yesterday, was the last day of instruction from the teacher, whom they all had gotten to know from previous classes. I came in at the tail end of the class, but was able to participate and learn a few techniques from Jennifer. The following are pictures of what we all had accomplished as of yesterday.

DSCN1575

DSCN1576DSCN1581DSCN1583DSCN1584

DSCN1585

DSCN1579All of the ladies use acrylic and I was the only one using watercolor. Yes, my humble attempt is pictured here. I have very little experience with painting but am at a place in life where all of a sudden I want to learn a lot of things.. Better Late Than Never…Besides the company is delightful and just makes me want to keep going back.. Thank God for new beginnings..

21 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2015 2:06 PM

    I’m still grappling with the idea that I’m old enough to go to our local senior center. ๐Ÿ™‚ But, I have found that they have a variety of activities that you can partake of there or pay for somewhere else. Plus the company is good. Love painting classes although I have no natural talent.

    Like

    • November 12, 2015 2:14 PM

      From reading your blog I have learned that you have natural talent in many areas.. It has been fun to mingle with these gals because, not only are they more experienced but creative.. I think it will rub off… I am still a young girl at heart. Only my mirror plays tricks on me…lol!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. November 12, 2015 4:57 PM

    I applaud your inquisitive and open nature! A few years ago my mother astounded me when she enrolled in a quilting class which she now dearly loves and a woodworking class, of all things! She didn’t pursue that any further but I was happy she was open to experimenting with new activities. My MIL, unfortunately for her – and ultimately us as well – has no interest in putting herself out there and has no hobbies, no interests, no passions whatsoever. I never want to live my life that way! I have so many interests, so many activities I wish to pursue that until I retire (soon, I hope. Soon!) I’ll just have to make do and pick and choose how to spend my time! A delightful dilemma if you ask me. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • November 12, 2015 5:09 PM

      Thank you Julie! There are many options, that’s for sure. I too want to take in what I can as long as I can..lol!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ellen permalink
    November 12, 2015 5:32 PM

    Good for you for trying this new venture!

    Like

  4. November 12, 2015 6:08 PM

    A little out of my comfort zone.. but I think I can. I think I can..lol! Thanks Ellen!

    Like

  5. November 12, 2015 6:14 PM

    All of the paintings are delightful — and how interesting that you’re trying watercolor. I still don’t quite understand how the technique works, but I suppose a youtube video or three could take care of that for me.

    I feel much as you do. There are so many things I want to learn, so many books I want to read — so mamy places to go! Time’s a-wasting, that’s for sure. Realistically, I have maybe twenty years — or maybe only ten. Who knows? But we need to live every day and not let opportunities pass us by.

    Liked by 1 person

    • November 12, 2015 9:41 PM

      Linda, the woman that encouraged me to get started, gifted me with an art set of watercolor paint, paper and brushes. I will have to go to youtube too and see what I can find.. Yes, there is plenty for us to do… and keep us out of trouble…lol!

      Like

  6. November 12, 2015 7:58 PM

    I usually chose watercolor over all the years off snd on I enjoyed “dabbling” in Art. I love every one of the paintings and could not guess which one was watercolor. Many appear acrylics but I could not say they were better or best. Each has their beauty in depicting nature with a pretty stucco building. I am so excited about your becoming part of this, Roberta. I like my book club snd hope to attend another fun event like the OSU football luncheon one past October Saturday before my trip to Mom’s. Enjoy! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • November 12, 2015 9:35 PM

      My response went bye bye, so I will try again. Anyway, it’s been fun learning and observing the different styles. Some of the ladies have been painting for years. I went to the library today and checked out several books. While there I ended up assisting a special needs young man as he was looking for a book, and I found myself moving a few books around that were out of place. Lol! I inquired about volunteering and they gave me an application. I guess I am getting a bit more settled in the community… What book are you reading? I hope to locate a writer’s group..next, I need help in that department too and I want to take up crocheting.. Maybe I have mentioned that already.. Anyway, Robin, it’s always nice chatting with you…

      Like

      • November 30, 2015 8:58 PM

        You wrote quite a bit here and now, I send off a belated response. I enjoyed the book by Tara Conklin not on the book club list called, The House Girl. It has a current young legal aid looking into reparations for slaves, then it has a slave girl who was taken into the Mistress house, taught to paint (โ™ก) and given somewhat a better life than had she stayed with her parents in the slaves quarters. It has a surprise snd good messages.
        The book club read Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver. I liked this book a lot, imperfect people have a miracle of thousands of butterflies in the hills of Tennessee. The farm wife is a young mother, dissatisfied with her life. The scientist who comes to examine and study the butterflies hires her to help him. She has a crush on him but he is married and loves his wife who comes to visit and is invited to eat dinner with her husband and children. Interesting as nd lots of story I didn’t revesl.
        I read cat mystery stories by Lillian Braun Jackson and enjoy the details in art, antiques and food eaten by the male detective Qwilleran. I also read the A is for Alibi series and silly Janet Evanovich. Whew! Long chat and hope you didn’t fall asleep, Roberta. ๐Ÿ™‚
        Good idea about working as a volunteer at the library. ๐Ÿ™‚ slso, How you are exploring other interests. I would like a writers group, too. It would be nice to join one that is new snd not one which has been together long. Easier to “fit into” a new group. Take care and hugs, Robin

        Liked by 1 person

      • November 30, 2015 9:27 PM

        No, I am wide awake.. I just got the ok to go in for volunteer training on Thursday, for the library that is. I don’t know why I can’t seem to settle down and read a book. It really has to trigger my interest. When I worked in the library there were certain patrons that would check out many books. I know I need to expand my horizons a bit..lol! I was wanting to read some kind of heartwarming Christmasy kind of book. I checked out a few and there was one by Debbie MacComber that may have been the one, but I let the time lapse and returned it. They made a hallmark movie out of the story. I hope they replay it again as I didn’t get to see it all.. I purchased some yarn and want to try my hand at crochet. I want to make a scarf. I want to meet someone to help me out if I get stuck. Well I am getting carried away here..lol! So fun talking to you.. We will visit again…

        Like

  7. November 12, 2015 11:20 PM

    Is that last one on the right yours?

    Liked by 1 person

  8. November 13, 2015 4:44 PM

    Lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. November 13, 2015 9:45 PM

    Good on you Roberta .. I think you have done a super job. I would love to paint ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

