Skip to content

Weekly Photo Challenge: Resilient

December 30, 2016

dsc_0041-001These barn doors were used as back drops for a photo shoot.  I have limited experience using a tripod. We had our share of laughter, as I ran to pose and act natural. So funny!  We often pass this beautiful barn, and all of the time whiz by. My photograph does not give justice to the beauty of the wood. The challenge for this week at the Daily Post is Resilient. It makes me think of this old barn, that Mr. G, thinks was used for milking cows. I am sure it has weathered many storms, and still it stands, with untold stories, that I will never know about. When I ponder on the word resilient, it makes me think about butterflies…

dsc_0314That travel hundreds of miles to reach a certain destination. Sometimes they are so battered, that I wonder how they can keep flying. That includes birds too. I think of Mr. G, who blew out his knee in the early eighties and then developed an infection in it years later. He was told that it would be best to remove his leg. He resisted that consideration and sought out alternative options.

dscn5513And years later here he stood, what felt for me, like we were on top of the world. We are not serious hikers, but when we do, we enjoy the experience, despite, getting out of breath, getting lost a few times and running out of water. People, animals, mammals and insects are resilient. We can bounce back from hardship, sorrow and loss. I must add that as human beings we have a responsibility to protect those that have no voice…  We are meant to overcome and maybe we don’t hear about it often enough, about those that persevere despite insurmountable circumstances.

dscn5526

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2016 3:50 PM

    LOVE the barn. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. December 30, 2016 6:55 PM

    Sometimes I think we’re more resilient than we can imagine — and that our lack of imagination causes us to get in our own way. Kudos to you and Mr. G for pressing on, despite the obstacles!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. December 30, 2016 11:02 PM

    “I must add that as human beings we have a responsibility to protect those that have no voice” Hell yes!

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks

  1. Weekly Photo Challenge: Resilient | Musings of a Random Mind

Leave a Reply

