mr rogers

According to Mr. Rogers

041-001

We live in a world in which we need to share responsibility. It’s easy to say, it’s  not my child, not my community, not my world, not my problem. Then there are those who see the need and respond. I consider them my hero’s.

                                                                                                                    Fred Rogers

For the longest time, I have felt the need, to get serious about cleaning up some sloppy drawers and containers. They hold old letters, postcards and various other sentimental items. As, I rummaged through my postcards, I found this one that I purchased. Mr. Rogers  reminds me of some of the kind people, that I have met in my lifetime. What stood out to me, about them, was their use of kind and encouraging words. As I look back, and reminisce about those that sent the postcards, letters or wrote the poems, I am truly thankful for those opportunities. Listening to and watching the drama unfold on television, at times, it reminds me of Twilight Zone. I was not a fan of the show and I would rather watch Andy Griffith, Lassie, Ozzie and Harriet, Ted Mack and the Amateur Hour, Queen for a Day etc. Some of you, may be able to relate. Now- a- days there is a war going with offensive, crude and rude words. I am concerned about what our children and grandchildren are hearing, and at times, I wonder if anyone cares. I do believe Mr. Rogers has already covered this subject.

When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers. You will find people who are helping.”     F R